The user experience

This section describes what users experience when they choose to prepare their old computer for replacement. In each phase of the deployment, we will illustrate what is likely to happen and how to mitigate errors when they arise. 

There are eleven phases you can have for this deployment type:

  1. Choosing the deployment
  2. Telling us where they are
  3. Showing them the list of applications they keep or lose in the deployment
  4. Getting details of the new computer
  5. Discovering the new computer on the network
  6. Files and folders they can choose to backup
  7. Requesting additional storage
  8. Connecting remotely
  9. Displaying a summary of their actions
  10. Running background checks
  11. The outcome of the deployment

Walking you through the user experience

Banner on the Shopping Web
Start hereObservations

Banner on the Shopping Web

Why can't I see the banner on the Shopping web?

If you can't see the banner on the Shopping web, it is likely that:

  • you or the device you are using may not yet be associated with the groups that can do this
  • your Shopping administrator has not created a Windows Servicing Assistant banner or Windows Servicing Assistant Deployment
The Start screen

Choosing the type of deploymentObservations

The Start screen

Always displayed for you to choose the type of deployment you want.

The Location screen

The Location screen

Where the deployment is initiated fromObservations

Displayed for you to tell us where you are initiating the deployment from.

Why can't I see the Location screen?

The only time you will not see this screen is if you asked for data to be moved from your old PC to a new one and you chose the Restore My Data and Apps to a New PC option on the Start screen. You will however, see the Old PC screen.

The Applications screen

Changes to applicationsObservations

Only displayed:

The list will show applications that will be retained, replaced or upgraded by Application Migration rules. Installed applications that are normalized in the catalog for which no Application Migration rule exists will show the New state to be Removed. Applications excluded in the Application Migration admin UI will not be included in this list.


The New PC screen

Getting information on the new computerObservations

The New PC screen

Only displayed:

Tip for discovering the name of the new computer.

Tip for discovering new PC name

Why can't I see the New PC screen?

You will only see this screen if you asked for your existing PC to be migrated to a new one and chose the Prepare My Old PC for Replacement option on the Start screen and either of the following is true:

  • your Shopping administrator has configured a new PC name for you
  • your Shopping administrator has allowed you to enter a new PC name

The Network screen

Discovering the computer on the networkObservations

The Network screen

Only displayed:

Why can't I see the Network screen?

You will only see this screen if you asked for your existing PC to be migrated to a new one and chose the Prepare My Old PC for Replacement option on the Start screen.

What do I do if it can't find my PC on the network?

You can continue by choosing the No option. The restore will not happen automatically. You will have to login to New PC and initiate the Restore deployment.


The User Backup screen

Files and folders to be backup-upObservations

Only displayed:

If the user elects to back up their files and folders, it will take several minutes to determine the storage requirements for the backup.

Prompt to ensure items to backup are correctly selected

Why can't I see the User Backup screen to backup my files up?

You can only see this screen if you asked us to:

  • migrate you from your existing PC to a new one
  • wipe your existing PC as part of the OS deployment and install a fresh one whilst maintaining all your data on the hard drive
  • wipe your existing PC as part of the OS deployment and install a fresh one without maintaining any of your existing data on the hard drive

Why can't I back up any files or folders even though I can see the User Backup screen?

Your Shopping administrator hasn't allowed you to do so even though the screen is displayed when you asked us to :

Why can't I select some folders?

Your Shopping administrator hasn't allowed you to do so.

The USB Media screen

Requesting additional storageObservations

Only displayed:

A series of checks are made when a USB device is discovered:

  • to ensure it is of sufficient capacity
    USB device too small for backing up data
  • to ensure there is enough space on it
    Insufficient space on the USB device
  • to ensure it is in the right format
    USB device not in the right format

Why can't I see the USB screen?

You won't see this screen if:

  • the use of USB media is prohibited in your environment
  • we haven't asked for it
  • if there is enough storage space in the the local cache to hold for the required content

What devices are supported by WSA and why are they used?

Any peripheral device that plugs into the PC via the USB port as long as it is formatted to the NTFS file system. These devices are used to hold Packages for Task Sequences and USMT data. Whether these devices can be used or not depends on how the WSA deployment was configured.

What happens if the USB drive is full?

If the USB device does not have sufficient space during the download check process, you will need to make space or provide in a USB device with enough space.

What happens to the personal data on the USB device? Will it be deleted?

Any data outside the  1EWSA  folder is preserved.

Can I copy or move WSA data from one USB device to another?

You can copy or move the 1EWSA folder from one USB device to another as long as you ensure that the storage space on the new USB device meets the original requirements determined in the estimation process.

The Summary screen

A quick summaryObservations

The Summary screen

Always displayed to show you what is going to take place for this deployment.

The Readiness screen

Making sure you are good to goObservations

These checks are run twice – of particular interest is the Content Download Checks:

  • On the first pass, the test is to ensure that the content has been successfully downloaded
  • On the second pass, the test is to verify that the content is not corrupt, if it is, a System Error is displayed
  • All other checks are repeated – you may have left you computer for a considerable amount of time and these tests are to ensure that nothing has changed in the meantime

When readiness checks are completed and no errors are encountered:
 

  • Errors:
    • impediments – if any of these are discovered, the deployment can continue only if the user resolves them 
      • System running on battery – use mains power
      • System running on WiFi – use a wired connection
      • USB device not connected or properly connected – check connected USB device
    • terminal errors – if any of these are discovered, the deployment cannot continue until they are resolved.
      System check error 
    • task sequence fails to run – if you do not see the task sequence running in the background, we recommend you inform the administrator so that they can investigate the issue
      Task sequence running in the background

 

The Complete screen

The results of the deploymentObservations

You must login to your new computer and run the Restore deployment so that we can restore your data and applications to it to complete the migration.

The Restore My Data and Apps to a New PC Start screen

If these errors are reported, they will need to be resolved before you can rerun the deployment:

  • Unable to prepare you old PC for replacement
     
  • Unable to establish remote connections (VPN or WiFi)