Answers some frequently asked questions about using the self-service OS deployment Windows Servicing Assistant.

Shopping Web

Why can't I see the banner on the Shopping web?

If you can't see the banner on the Shopping web, it is likely that:

  • you or the device you are using may not yet be associated with the groups that can do this
  • your Shopping administrator has not created a Windows Servicing Assistant banner or Windows Servicing Assistant Deployment

Location

Why can't I see the Location screen?

The only time you will not see this screen is if you asked for data to be moved from your old PC to a new one and you chose the Restore My Data and Apps to a New PC option on the Start screen. You will however, see the Old PC screen.

Applications

Why can't I see the Applications screen?

You won't see the list of applications:

New PC

Why can't I see the New PC screen?

You will only see this screen if you asked for your existing PC to be migrated to a new one and chose the Prepare My Old PC for Replacement option on the Start screen and either of the following is true:

  • your Shopping administrator has configured a new PC name for you
  • your Shopping administrator has allowed you to enter a new PC name

Network

Why can't I see the Network screen?

You will only see this screen if you asked for your existing PC to be migrated to a new one and chose the Prepare My Old PC for Replacement option on the Start screen.

What do I do if it can't find my PC on the network?

You can continue by choosing the No option. The restore will not happen automatically. You will have to login to New PC and initiate the Restore deployment.

Old PC

Why can't I see the Old PC screen?

You will only see this screen if you asked for data to be moved from your old PC to a new one and chose the Restore My Data and Apps to a New PC option on the Start screen.

Why can't I see any PC names in the Select machine to restore data from list?

It can be because:

User Backup

Why can't I see the User Backup screen to backup my files up?

You can only see this screen if you asked us to:

  • migrate you from your existing PC to a new one
  • wipe your existing PC as part of the OS deployment and install a fresh one whilst maintaining all your data on the hard drive
  • wipe your existing PC as part of the OS deployment and install a fresh one without maintaining any of your existing data on the hard drive

Why can't I back up any files or folders even though I can see the User Backup screen?

Your Shopping administrator hasn't allowed you to do so even though the screen is displayed when you asked us to :

Why can't I select some folders?

Your Shopping administrator hasn't allowed you to do so.

USB Media

Why can't I see the USB screen?

You won't see this screen if:

  • the use of USB media is prohibited in your environment
  • we haven't asked for it
  • if there is enough storage space in the the local cache to hold for the required content

What devices are supported by WSA and why are they used?

Any peripheral device that plugs into the PC via the USB port as long as it is formatted to the NTFS file system. These devices are used to hold Packages for Task Sequences and USMT data. Whether these devices can be used or not depends on how the WSA deployment was configured.

What happens if the USB drive is full?

If the USB device does not have sufficient space during the download check process, you will need to make space or provide in a USB device with enough space.

What happens to the personal data on the USB device? Will it be deleted?

Any data outside the  1EWSA  folder is preserved.

Can I copy or move WSA data from one USB device to another?

You can copy or move the 1EWSA folder from one USB device to another as long as you ensure that the storage space on the new USB device meets the original requirements determined in the estimation process.

Nomad cache

What happens if the Nomad cache is full?

If the Nomad cache is full during a WSA content download check process, the cache will be cleared to make sufficient space for the content that WSA requires. During the clean up process, only packages that are not required for WSA are deleted.

Connection

I'm connecting remotely. Why can't I see this screen?

You'll only see this screen if your Shopping administrator has asked you to provide your VPN or wireless credentials and if: