Summary

The Users page lets you view and manage the current users of Tachyon. From this page you can:

  • Reactivate deactivated users
  • Deactivate selected users
  • Add new users
  • Remove users
  • View the details for particular users and set their roles.

On this page:

Tachyon users

Tachyon users are added using their Active Directory properties, fetched by Tachyon through a direct search of Active Directory. A Tachyon user may be defined as either a domain account or a security group. When using security groups we recommend the use of Universal groups as these will be compatible with any potential future changes to the AD infrastructure. A more complete discussion of this can be found under the Preparation - Role-based security groups heading.

Once a user has been added to Tachyon you can then set the Tachyon roles that define what access that user has to the Tachyon features.

How to define users and set their access rights

This section outlines the steps necessary to create a user and assign their access rights, if you want more details please see Configuring Access Rights - tutorial, which provides a step-by-step worked example.

Adding Tachyon users

  1. Log on to the Tachyon portal using a Tachyon user account with the Permissions Administrators role.
  2. Navigate to the Settings→Permissions→Users page.
  3. Click on the Add button, doing this displays the Add user popup.
  4. In the Select user field type the name, or part of the name, for the Active Directory user or security group that you want to add. A list of matching names will be retrieved from Active Directory and displayed as you type, these are filtered so that users or groups that have already been added do not appear.
  5. Select the Active Directory user or security group from the list of matching names displayed in the drop-down list and click Add.

Adding Tachyon roles to users or groups

To edit the roles for a user or group:

  1. On the Settings→Permissions→Users page, click on the user's name link that you want to add the role to, this displays the user details page.
  2. For groups ensure the Roles tab is selected.
  3. Click the Edit button to display the Edit roles assigned to user popup.
  4. Locate the role(s) you want to apply and check their checkbox.
  5. Once you've selected all the roles you want click the Save button.

Deactivating or removing Tachyon users or groups

As mentioned earlier, Tachyon lets you add Active Directory users or security groups as Tachyon users. It also provides a means for deactivating and removing those Tachyon users. It's worthwhile discussing when you should use deactivate and when you should use remove.

Using deactivate

  • Deactivated users can be re-activated at a later date and all of their set roles will be re-instated. This does not affect any other Tachyon roles associated with the user or group by virtue of their membership of other Tachyon groups.

Using remove

  • Use remove to delete the particular associations for the specific Tachyon user or group with their Tachyon roles. This does not affect any other Tachyon roles associated with the user or group by virtue of their membership of other Tachyon groups.

Deactivating Tachyon users or groups

You can deactivate existing users if you need to temporarily prevent them from using the Tachyon portal without permanently removing all of their set roles.

To deactivate a user:

  1. Navigate to the Settings→Permissions→Users page.
  2. Check the checkbox at the left-hand end of the user entry you want to deactivate.
  3. Click the Deactivate button.
  4. The icon in the Activation column will change to , indicating that the user is now deactivated in Tachyon.
  5. After deactivating, the selected user will no longer be able to perform further actions in the Tachyon console (for any current sessions) and will not be able to log in to the Tachyon portal for any subsequent sessions.

Re-activating Tachyon users or groups

You can re-activate currently deactivated Tachyon users or groups to grant them access to the Tachyon portal.

To re-activate a user:

  1. Navigate to the Settings→Permissions→Users page.
  2. Check the checkbox at the left-hand end of the user entry you want to re-activate.
  3. Click the Activate button.
  4. The icon in the Activation column will change to , indicating that the user is now activated in Tachyon.
  5. After activating, the selected user will be able to log in to the Tachyon portal and perform their permitted functions as before.

Removing users

You can permanently remove Tachyon users or groups if they are no longer needed. Doing this removes any associations to Tachyon roles.

To remove a user:

  1. Navigate to the Settings→Permissions→Users page.
  2. Check the checkbox at the left-hand end of the user entry you want to remove.
  3. Click the Remove button.
  4. A Remove group or Remove user popup will be displayed asking if you want to proceed with the removal of the selected group or user.
  5. To proceed and remove them from Tachyon click the Yes, remove group or Yes, remove user button, depending on whether it was a group or user being removed.

From this point on all the associations for that user or group and their roles will be removed from Tachyon. If did want to add them back in at a later date you would have to rebuild these step by step.