Instruction Management in Tachyon
The Tachyon instructions that are available to any ServiceNow user with the x_1e_connect.Tachyon_User role, must be defined in Tachyon by setting the appropriate permissions on the proxy user role in Tachyon, for more details see Preparation: Adding the ITSM Connect app Tachyon user account as a Tachyon user.
Updating Instruction sets in Tachyon and automatically disabled instructions
Instructions or instruction sets that are assigned to the proxy user specified in Tachyon User Name field of the API Configuration Page may be deleted, updated, or permissions changed within Tachyon. In this case instructions are no longer available to the ITSM Connect app users. These instructions are not deleted from the app, instead they are automatically disabled (Active status set to false).
When an administrator user tries to retrieve the latest set of instructions using the Retrieve Instructions button, a new set of instructions is returned from Tachyon, which might have added, updated or deleted instructions. Depending on which of those states an instruction belongs to there are three actions taken:
- New instructions are added to the ServiceNow database directly.
- Updated instructions are modified in the ServiceNow database and the updates made available to users from that point on.
- Instructions that are deleted from Tachyon and therefore no longer available to 1E ITSM Connect users are not deleted from ServiceNow database instead they are automatically disabled by setting their Active status to false. This ensures data integrity by providing full support for the historical data if any of these instructions have been run.