Summary

Adding, updating and deleting users in ServiceNow.

A global administrator manages the individuals who can access ServiceNow by defining them as users in the system and assigning them to role/groups.

Please refer to:

On this page:

Roles provided by 1E ITSM Connect app

Access to features in the 1E ITSM Connect app is handled by three roles created in ServiceNow when the app is installed, as shown in the following table. The table also shows additional ServiceNow roles required by each 1E ITSM Connect app role. Please refer to 

Role nameAdditional ServiceNow roles requiredDescription
x_1e_connect.Tachyon_Admin<None>

This role allows its users to configure the 1E ITSM Connect app, in addition to having the same rights as the x_1e_connect.Tachyon_User role.

ServiceNow admin users must change their application scope to 1E ITSM Connect in order to configure the app, and retrieve instructions.

x_1e_connect.Tachyon_UserITIL (for access to ITSM incidents)

This role grants its users access to incidents and the ability to run Tachyon instructions.

This role maps on to the proxy Tachyon actioner.


x_1e_connect.Tachyon_Approver<None>

This role allows its users to approve Tachyon instructions that require approval.


x_1E_core_connect.user<None>When adding any of the above roles to a user, the x_1E_core_connect.user role is also inherited automatically. Please refer to 1E Core 2.0 - Requirements for more details.

Adding a new user in ServiceNow

To add a new ServiceNow user in the 1E ITSM Connect app:

This picture shows the relationship between: ServiceNow users and the 1E ITSM Connect roles on one side; the Tachyon proxy users, roles and instruction sets on the other; and how the two sides are connected.

  1. Login to ServiceNow with Global administrator credentials.
  2. Search for users in the search field of the navigation panel.
  3. Click on Users tab under User Administration.
  4. Click on the New button on the left hand side of the header.

  1. Enter the required details for a new ServiceNow user and click on Submit button.

  1. After clicking Submit the Users list will be displayed. You can check that the user has been added successfully by searching for the user Name in the header.

Adding or removing the Tachyon roles for an existing user

A ServiceNow global administrator can update the roles for an existing user. This will be required for the 1E ITSM Connect app to assign the appropriate roles to access Tachyon and administer the 1E ITSM Connect app.

To update the roles for an existing user:

  1. Navigate to User Administration→Users and use the search field to find the user you want to update. In our example we will modify the AppUser1 user, so we type app in the search field.
  2. When the user is displayed, open their details by clicking on the link in the UserID column for the user.

  1. On the user details page, select the Roles Tab and click on the Edit... button. Doing this will display the Edit Members screen.

  1. On the Edit Members screen search for roles containing the word Tachyon. In our example we type the text *tach in the Collection search field. Doing this displays the three tachyon related roles in the Collection list:

    • x_1e_connect.Tachyon_Admin
    • x_1e_connect.Tachyon_User
    • x_1e_connect.Tachyon_Approver
  2. To add a role to the user select it from the Collection list and click the > button to move it to the Roles List.
  3. To remove a role which has been assigned to a user, select that role from the Roles List and click the < button.
  4. Once the required roles have been selected click on the Save button to add/remove those roles for the user.
  5. When this is done the User details page will be displayed with the selected user's roles updated accordingly.

Deleting a user

Global administrators have permissions that allow them to delete users from ServiceNow. To do this:

  1. Navigate to User Administration→Users and use the search field to find the user you want to delete. In our example we demonstrate deleting AppUser1, so we type app in the search field.
  2. When the user is displayed, open their details by clicking on the link in the UserID column for the user.

  1. On the user details screen, click on Delete button.

  1. A confirmation box will be displayed asking if you want to proceed to delete the user. Click on the Delete button to confirm deletion.
  2. Once this is done the user will be deleted. You can verify this by searching for the user in the users list.