Summary

How to uninstall Nomad. Follow these recommendations if you want to reinstall Nomad instead of upgrading.

On this page:

Uninstalling Nomad

If you are uninstalling Nomad, we recommend you do it in the following order.

The Nomad app and Content Distribution

Nomad is installed and uninstalled using Tachyon setup. You can manage your Nomad installation using Tachyon setup Maintenance.

You can start Tachyon.Setup and click directly on the Maintenance link in the left-hand menu.

Maintenance

From this screen you can: 

  • Uninstall... all or part of the components deployed from Tachyon.Setup 
  • Install, re-install or update any Applications... 
  • Change the Server certificate... used by the Tachyon website, switches and services - or fix their bindings
  • Upload and apply a 1E Hotfix bundle by clicking on Hotfixing... 

A 1E Hotfix bundle consists of a manifest XML file containing one of commands, and hotfix files. Examples of hotfix files are MSP files and scripts.


Maintenance

Uninstall

From this screen you can uninstall all or some of the components deployed from Tachyon Setup.

Tachyon Setup is the recommended method of uninstalling all or individual components instead of using the Windows Control Panel.

This is because Tachyon Setup can undo any changes that were done after deploying the components, which would not be undone by the standard application uninstaller.

Uninstall

Applications

In this dialog you can select to install or re-install any Applications used by the Portal.

The top grid displays the Applications that are already installed and their versions.

To install or re-install applications:

  1. Type or select a folder in the Applications folder field.
  2. Click on Show Applications. Doing this displays all the Tachyon Applications that are found under the selected folder. The Applications are displayed using the Name, Title and Version.
  3. Click on Install Applications. This will upload the Applications into the server:
    • Any new uploaded Applications are added to the server
    • Any uploaded Applications with a newer version number will replace the older versions
    • If any uploaded Application has a version number prior to an existing Application, an error message will be generated and the version will not be downgraded.

Applications maintenance

Configuration Manager Consoles

  1. Close the Configuration Manager Admin Console before you uninstall the Configuration Manager Console extensions and Nomad Tools for OSD.

Nomad clients

  1. If you have installed the Nomad download monitor, uninstall this before Nomad.
  2. Ensure there are no running jobs before you uninstall 1E Client or permanently disable the Nomad client module.
  3. Content in the cache may not be automatically deleted when you uninstall Nomad (and some MSI-based installations and files may be required for future application repairs etc). You can delete these files/folders manually or run CacheCleaner.exe -deleteall before you uninstall Nomad.

Manual uninstallation

1E Client can be uninstalled manually by using Windows Apps and Features (appwiz.cpl). A reboot is not normally required.

Disabling a feature or client module

Please refer to Reconfiguring 1E Client for examples of how to use the -reconfigure command-line to reconfigure the 1E Client.

Uninstallation using the Windows Installer

1E Client can be uninstalled automatically by using a Windows Installer command-line, where the {product code} is dependent on the version of the 1E Client. The example below also includes switches that prevents prompting and restarts, and creates a log file.

msiexec /x {BF6F5FA9-64C8-4B72-A6B6-14A582BF96B8} /qn /norestart /l*vx C:\Windows\temp\1EClient-uninstall.log

Tidy up after uninstallation

After uninstallation of 1E Client, the following is left behind. As with other Windows installers, uninstallation will leave behind any files, folders and registry entries that were created after installation.

LocationArtifactsRecommendation
Installation folderNone.


Logs folder

Log files remain.

Please refer to Log files for log file locations of 1E Client and its client modules.

The log files can be deleted or renamed. If not deleted, then a new installation that uses the same logs folder will continue to use the old log file.

Client\Persist folder remains.

Leave this folder which contains status information about current instructions.

The Persist folder should be deleted only if you do not intend re-installing the 1E Client with Tachyon enabled, or when preparing OS images.

Tachyon client registryHKLM\SOFTWARE\1E\Client\Persist

This registry exists if the Tachyon client feature of the 1E Client is enabled.

It is used to keep a record of hash values for its persistent storage files, which includes status information about current instructions.

This registry key should be deleted only if you do not intend re-installing the 1E Client with Tachyon enabled, or when preparing OS images.

Nomad Cache%ALLUSERSPROFILE%\1E\NomadBranch

The folder should be deleted only if you do not intend re-installing the 1E Client with Nomad enabled.

Downloaded content is retained so that if Nomad client is re-enabled it will be scanned and re-registered, to make available for peer sharing with other Nomad clients.

HKLM\SOFTWARE\1E\Common and HKLM\SOFTWARE\1E\NightWatchman are used by the 1E NightWatchman Agent, previously part of the 1E Agent.