By supporting the construction and manipulation of location and organization client group hierarchies, NightWatchman Console lets you model your business appropriately. The groups can be used to enables the application of power policies to business units or locations, not just specific computers. To learn more about applying power policies, see using the NightWatchman group hierarchies.

Using NightWatchman Console you can:

On this page:

Reporting

Location and organization groups can be used in the NightWatchman Agility Framework reports to enable power consumption statistics to be analyzed in terms of their effect on the business. To learn more about reporting, see the NightWatchman Management Center Reporting Guide .

Adding groups

To add a group:

  1. Select either the Location Groups or Organization Groups tab.
  2. Select an existing node in the Groups tree for the new group to be under.
  3. Right-click the node and from the context menu, choose Add Group...
  4. Enter the name for the new group in the Add Group dialog and click OK. The new group appears under the previously selected group node.

(question) Click here for a tutorial.

Renaming groups

To rename a group:

  1. Select the group node to rename.
  2. Right-click the group node and select the Rename Group option from the context menu.
  3. The group name will turn into an edit field, type in the new name.
  4. Click Enter to accept the change or ESC to cancel.

(question) Click here for a tutorial.

Deleting groups

To delete a group:

  1. Select the group node to delete.
  2. Right-click the group node and on the context menu, choose Delete.
  3. You are prompted to confirm your actions. Click Yes to confirm or No to cancel. If you previously ticked the Don't ask me again checkbox, you will not be prompted and the group is removed from the NightWatchman Console immediately.

As a precaution, NightWatchman Console prevents the deletion of groups that contain sub-groups.

(question) Click here for a tutorial.

When a building node gets deleted computers associated with it are reassigned to the UNASSIGNED BUILDING group. Similarly, when a department node gets deleted, computers associated with it are reassigned to the UNASSIGNED DEPARTMENT group.

When groups are deleted, their records persists in the the database but are marked as deleted (soft-delete) and is not displayed in the Nightwatchman Console. Computers associated with that group are re-classified as UNASSIGNED. Reporting data for the deleted groups are not affected.

Assigning computers to departments and buildings

To assign or move computers to specific departments and buildings:

  1. Computers cannot be moved between the Location and Organization group hierarchies. Select which hierarchy you want to modify by clicking either the Location Groups or Organization Groups tab.
  2. In the Groups tree, navigate to the current location of the computers you want to assign. Unassigned computers reside in the UNASSIGNED BUILDING node for Location groups and UNASSIGNED DEPARTMENT for Organization groups.
  3. Select the computers to move to a particular department or building.
  4. Scroll the Groups tree view and expand nodes until the department or building node is visible.
  5. Drag your selection into the new department or building node. You can only drag computers to a building or department group, i.e. one that is at the fifth tier of the organization or location hierarchies.

(question) Click here for a tutorial.

Removing computers from departments and buildings

To remove computers from specific departments and buildings:

  1. In the Groups tree view, navigate to the building or department you want to remove computers from.
  2. Select the computers to remove.
  3. Right-click and from the context menu, choose Remove from Group.
  4. The selected computers are disassociated from their current node and reassigned the UNASSIGNED BUILDING group or the UNASSIGNED DEPARTMENT group.

(question) Click here for a tutorial.