Summary

How to tidy up after uninstalling Tachyon. Follow these recommendations if you want to reinstall Tachyon instead of upgrading.

Uninstalling all the Tachyon server components

Use the Tachyon Setup wizard to uninstall Tachyon 5.1 instead of Windows Programs and Features (appwiz.cpl), this should not require a reboot.


 Click here to see reasons why Tachyon Setup is best for uninstalling server components...

Tachyon Setup is the recommended method of uninstalling all or individual components instead of using the Windows Control Panel.

This is because Tachyon Setup can undo any changes that were done after deploying the components, which would not be undone by the standard application uninstaller. For an example of why this is important, see the information box below.

Tachyon Setup moves ActiveEfficiency website from Default Web Site to Tachyon in IIS

When installing ActiveEfficiency, the MSIEXEC installer deploys its web applications under the Default Web Site in IIS. However the rest of the web applications (Tachyon, Consumer, Platform etc.) are deployed to a website named Tachyon on the same server.

IIS uses host headers in website bindings to route requests to the correct website, which means bindings must be unique. Only the Tachyon website has a binding for HTTP requests that use the servername FQDN and port 80. It is not possible for the same binding to be used on the Default Web Site. To allow ActiveEfficiency HTTP requests that use the servername FQDN and port 80 it is necessary for Tachyon Setup to move its website from Default Web Site to Tachyon website.

Moving websites has advantages of providing a single, consistent, platform under a common website, and allowing these web applications to be reachable over HTTPS without needing additional DNS Names and certificates.

However, the disadvantage is if you uninstall ActiveEfficiency using the traditional uninstallation option from the Windows Control Panel, they leave an orphan entry under the Tachyon site in the IIS configuration. This is harmless but useless; ideally, we want to leave a completely clean system after uninstallation. To achieve the clean uninstallation, the Tachyon Setup uninstaller first moves back the applications to their original location (the Default Web Site). In this way, each MSIEXEC uninstaller finds its web application where expected and each one is cleanly uninstalled.

Before uninstalling, make a backup copy of the installation folder.

The BI (Business Intelligence), SLA (Software Lifecycle Automation) and Catalog components have dependencies and should be uninstalled in the following order:

  1. BI
  2. SLA
  3. Catalog

The Tachyon Server component can be uninstalled at any point as long as SLA is not installed. SLA has a dependency on Tachyon Server. The ActiveEfficiency Server component can be uninstalled at any point.

If you use Tachyon Setup for uninstalling, it will automatically enforce dependencies and uninstall components in the correct order.

On this page:

After uninstalling Tachyon server

Uninstalling leaves behind the following artifacts. Like other Windows installers, uninstalling will leave behind any files, folders and registry entries created after installation.

LocationArtifactsRecommendation
Installation folderYou may find web.config files if IIS settings were modified after the previous installation.Delete or rename the installation folder.
Logs folderLog files remain.Delete or rename the logs folder. If it is not deleted, a new installation using the same logs folder will continue to use the old log files.
RegistryEncrypted license details remain in HKLM\SOFTWARE\1E\Tachyon\LicDataThe Tachyon registry key can be deleted or left. It is overwritten by the next installation.
SQL ServerTachyonMaster and TachyonResponses databases, as well as any databases used by additional installed components (Catalog, SLA, ActiveEfficiency), will remain at their corresponding SQL instances.The databases can be deleted. If not deleted, the Tachyon Server installer provides an option to drop old databases or use them.

Uninstalling 1E Client for Windows

Manual uninstallation

1E Client can be uninstalled manually by using Windows Apps and Features (appwiz.cpl). A reboot is not normally required.

Disabling a feature or client module

Please refer to Reconfiguring 1E Client for examples of how to use the -reconfigure command-line to reconfigure the 1E Client.

Uninstallation using the Windows Installer

1E Client can be uninstalled automatically by using a Windows Installer command-line, where the {product code} is dependent on the version of the 1E Client. The example below also includes switches that prevents prompting and restarts, and creates a log file.

msiexec /x {BF6F5FA9-64C8-4B72-A6B6-14A582BF96B8} /qn /norestart /l*vx C:\Windows\temp\1EClient-uninstall.log

Tidy up after uninstallation

After uninstallation of 1E Client, the following is left behind. As with other Windows installers, uninstallation will leave behind any files, folders and registry entries that were created after installation.

LocationArtifactsRecommendation
Installation folderNone.


Logs folder

Log files remain.

Please refer to Log files for log file locations of 1E Client and its client modules.

The log files can be deleted or renamed. If not deleted, then a new installation that uses the same logs folder will continue to use the old log file.

Client\Persist folder remains.

Leave this folder which contains status information about current instructions.

The Persist folder should be deleted only if you do not intend re-installing the 1E Client with Tachyon enabled, or when preparing OS images.

Tachyon client registryHKLM\SOFTWARE\1E\Client\Persist

This registry exists if the Tachyon client feature of the 1E Client is enabled.

It is used to keep a record of hash values for its persistent storage files, which includes status information about current instructions.

This registry key should be deleted only if you do not intend re-installing the 1E Client with Tachyon enabled, or when preparing OS images.

Nomad Cache%ALLUSERSPROFILE%\1E\NomadBranch

The folder should be deleted only if you do not intend re-installing the 1E Client with Nomad enabled.

Downloaded content is retained so that if Nomad client is re-enabled it will be scanned and re-registered, to make available for peer sharing with other Nomad clients.

HKLM\SOFTWARE\1E\Common and HKLM\SOFTWARE\1E\NightWatchman are used by the 1E NightWatchman Agent, previously part of the 1E Agent.

Uninstalling 1E Client for non-Windows

macOS uninstallation

To uninstall the 1E Client from a macOS device invoke the uninstall.sh script from within a sudo bash script. uninstall.sh is available within the scripts directory of the Apple Disk Image (dmg) file of the macOS 1E client.

Alternatively, enter the following commands inside a sudo bash shell:

bash$ cd /Library
bash$ pkgutil --only-files --files com.1e.pkg.1E.Client | tr '\n' '\0' | xargs -n 1 -0 rm
bash$ pkgutil --forget com.1e.pkg.1E.Client

Linux uninstallation

The following command-line can be used to uninstall the 1E Client on Linux:

sudo rpm -e 1e.client

Uninstallation will leave behind files, folders and registry entries that were created after installation:

LocationArtifactsRecommendation
Installation folderNone.
Logs folder

Log files remain.

The log files can be deleted or renamed. If not deleted, then a new installation that uses the same logs folder will continue to use the old log file.

Client\Persist folder remains.

You should keep the Persist folder, which contains status information about current instructions, only if you intend to re-install the 1E Client.

Solaris uninstallation

The Solaris IPS packaging system does not support pre- and post-install actions, so the 1E Client must be disabled before uninstallation.

sudo svcadm disable 1e.client
sudo pkg uninstall 1e.client

If you protected the 1E Client's persistent storage, as described in Solaris installation, but no longer need it, then you will also need to run this command:

sudo pkg uninstall 1e.client.persist

Even if you did not protect the 1E Client's persistent storage, when the 1E Client is uninstalled the IPS system saves the directory at /var/pkg/lost+found/etc/1E/1e.client/Persist-timestamp , so it can be restored if necessary.